DeWitt Library Research Guides: National History Day: Journal Articles

Databases

The library subscribes to a number of research databases. You can use these while on campus. If you find an article that interests you and it's available in full-text, be sure to download it then email it to yourself. We cannot interlibrary loan articles for you. However, if you find something you want, be sure to ask at your public library.

America: History & Life (EBSCO)
A large index to journals, books & media dedicated to the history of the United States and Canada.
ERIC & Education Database (ProQuest)
The Education Resource Information Center's index to articles and documents from scholarly education literature, plus a database including over 1,000 full-text journals. Watch a video on how to use this database.
HeinOnline Academic
HeinOnline Academic covers over 300 years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world.
JSTOR
A full text archive of scholarly journals covering many disciplines. DeWitt Library subscribes to a number of collections, and JSTOR also includes a number of Open Access collections as well.
Project MUSE
A journal collection of digital humanities and social sciences content.
ProQuest Central
A large multidisciplinary collection of databases.
Slavery in America and the World
This collection of legal materials on the issue of slavery includes federal, state, and local statutes on slavery, plus all reported state and federal cases. Also included are books and pamphlets written about slavery, including defenses of it and attacks on it, and congressional testimony and debates on the topic.
Wiley Online Library
A collection of over 1,600 full-text Wiley journals.

Journals & Magazines

We've set up links to individual magazines that are well-suited to junior high and high school students: