Nursing Resource Guide

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

The CDC’s mission is to monitor public health, investigate health problems, and promote health behaviors. This site has specific health and safety topics, a public health image library, and state and national data sets on health and disease.

This consumer health information site contains a hand-selected directory of the health-related websites of more than 1,500 organizations.

As another consumer health resource, this site gathers information from various government agencies, providing simple but accurate health-related information for the general public. Its medical encyclopedia, drug and herbal supplement information, current health news, & superior interactive tutorials (www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/tutorial.html) are excellent resources for nursing students.

Here you can find information on this organization's funding initiatives, including diversity programs and resources, links to nursing organizations for various specialties, and publications from national conferences and meetings.

This directory of consumer health information is organized by conditions.

Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the US National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

The world's largest medical library.

The premier destination site for clinical and professional information needs and committed to providing credible, current, authoritative, evidence-based resources to help in practice.

Use this index for quick and easy access to:
• Selected statistics on a variety of health topics.
• The latest data in reports, databases, and other resources.
• Additional data and tools.

A site compiling statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.

Here, the "MD" stands for "Meta Directory" and the University of Iowa's Hardin Library for the Health Sciences is one of the best and most complete directories for medical and health-related links. Hardin MD offers a huge, up-to-date collection of medical images and information.

Mayo Clinic's award-winning website offers consumer health information and self-improvement tools. Mayo Clinic's medical experts and editorial professionals bring you access to the knowledge and experience of Mayo Clinic for all your consumer health information needs, from cancer, diabetes, and heart disease to nutrition, exercise, and pregnancy.

Here the graphics are interactive, and users can view animation of the system, tutorials, and descriptions. However, users must have a Java-enabled browser, and there is no search capability.

Information provided for each drug includes the description, clinical pharmacology, indication and dosage, side effects and drug interactions, warning and precautions, drug overdose contraindications, and patient information.