Nursing Database
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowA research tool for all aspects of nursing containing full-text scholarly journal articles, care sheets and quick lessons on diseases.
Limit: 4 users at a time
Physician Assistant Databases
These databases, intended for the PA program at Northwestern, may also be helpful to nursing students:
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA tool for medical students that contains a variety of resources including e-textbooks, diagnostic tools, procedural videos, patient education materials, a drug database, photos, illustrations and case files.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is a tool that assists health care professionals with point-of-care decisions. Many health providers depend on UpToDate to help guide care decisions and be informed about standards. The resource is evidence based and authored by physicians.
Related Databases
- Medline This link opens in a new windowA database of biomedical and life sciences journal citations from around the world.
- PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe APA’s premier abstracting and indexing database to scholarly literature in psychology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA large database of authoritative articles in the sciences including physical, life, health and social.
- Social Work & Sociology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA collection of social work and sociology indices, including Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, plus a number of full-text journals.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,600 full-text Wiley journals.