Recommended Web Sites

A site with news and history from all over Africa.

The homepage for the Australian National University's Asian Studies program.

Digitized collections from the University of Cambridge (UK). The first full collection is the papers of Sir Isaac Newton.

An online encyclopedia that tells the story of the ship, the survivors, and the victims.

A site with articles and information on the Middle Ages, with research articles, books, travelogues, and downloads for your computer.

A site containing propaganda itself and material produced for the guidance of propagandists in Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the 20th century.

A series of maps dealing with general trends and specific places and events of the world in the 20th Century.

An expanding scientific project presenting 3,000 years of world history with an interactive combination of synchronistic lifelines, timelines, and maps.

A site collecting illustrations that help the French celebrate their past, understand the present and plan for their future.

A homepage for The Center for World Indigenous Studies, fostering better understanding between peoples through the publication and distribution of literature written and voiced by leading contributors from Fourth World Nations.

A site offering sources for Medieval Studies, including sources on individual empires, religions, sex, and gender, and more.

An authentic heritage tour through Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia, and Virginia.

A site facilitating access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America, with many resources designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, as well as acting as a gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students looking for information about this important area.

A compilation of electronic bibliographic resources and research materials on the Middle East and North Africa.

A digital collection of over 90 photographs taken at the outbreak of World War II in Poland.

A site offering links to medieval resources on such topics as Archaeology, Civilizations, Literature, Music, Sciences, Law, and more.

A website showcasing collections and services on the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

A user-friendly, searchable catalog for scholars, students, and the general public to have quick and easy access to high-quality web resources originating in Asia.

The categorized and annotated virtual library covering Russia and Eastern Europe.

This is a site that allows one to search or browse the Holocaust Encyclopedia, find names and places of survivors and victims, read personal histories, use the bibliographies developed by the USHMM Library, find material for classroom use, and find information on today's crimes against humanity.

A collection of transcriptions and audio of 118 interviews involving 121 interviewees, many of whom were displaced during the Holocaust.

Resources on European studies, both regional and historical, covering British, Classics, Dutch, French, German, Iberian, Irish, Italian, Medieval and Renaissance, Scandinavian, and Social Sciences and History studies.

A collection telling the story of Britain's working classes from the earliest days of industrialization to the present day.

A site offering documents to support the study of world history from the working-class and non-Eurocentric perspective.

An overview of the First World War, including online magazines, battlefield tours, and more.

An archive of primary documents from World War One, presenting in one location the primary documents concerning the Great War.

A website offering the history of northern peoples, cultures, and environments and the issues that matter to northern residents today.

A site with annotated links to over 1,200 history websites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 lesson plans, history teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more.

A primary sourcebook intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern European history and American history, as well as modern Western Civilization and World Cultures.

Links to online exhibitions that have been created by libraries, archives, and historical societies, as well as to museum online exhibitions with a significant focus on library and archival materials.

National Geographic's interactive map website

The Library of Congress' online catalog of prints and photographs.

Authoritative biographical web sources covering both living and deceased persons in various occupations.

A compilation of primary and secondary sources on the amendment that affirmed women's right to vote.

Resources on African-American history in the United States.

A telecourse and video series presenting American history as a living narrative.

A historical record of the mappings of North America and the Caribbean from 1750-1789.

An online dictionary of Iowan individuals who made strong contributions to the state and the nation, including name, birth and death dates, place of birth, education, and career and contributions.

A site containing more than 2, 300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

A site with historical documents from ancient times (4000bce) all the way through the present day.

An electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001, concerning the United States' foreign relations.

An anthology of primary documents on the founding of the United States arranged according to broad themes, then articles, sections, and clauses of the Constitution.

A collection of African American newspapers from all over the country. Historical periods covered include "Antebellum and Civil War Era, 1800-1865," "Reconstruction, 1865-1876," "Gilded Age, 1877-1899," "Pre-World War I, 1900-1914," "World War I-World War II, 1914-1945," "20th and 21st Centuries."

A site, designed for high school and college teachers and students, that serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.

A searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side.

A collection of the laws and treaties in the United States which had to do with dealings with American Indians, organized by years.

A site providing free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music that document the American experience.

An online collection of issues of LIFE magazine, from 1935-1970.

A site offering the different recorded versions of the political debates between Lincoln and Douglas.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A collection of the most legally and historically valuable records from the United States Federal Government.

A site for indigenous people to become visible to each other and themselves and organize actions in a multitude of local, national, and international institutions.

A site that selects collects, preserves, and makes accessible "the accumulated wisdom of the world" through a digital image database, spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media.

An online exhibit from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.

A site using electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001, and its aftermath, with more than 150,000 digital items including emails, first-hand stories, and digital images.

A public radio story about Mississippi's battle to maintain racial segregation.

Dickinson State College is creating a comprehensive archive of Roosevelt-related papers, including his letters and diaries. The site includes much-related information about Roosevelt, such as a timeline, biography, and articles, and scholarship about him. A nice addition is a list of themes about Roosevelt and his presidency, each with general background information plus related resources.

Learn about Jefferson and experience a typical day in retirement at Monticello. Read articles about the plantation and slavery.

A wide selection of archived television programming from September 11, 2001, and the days after. Includes over 3,000 hours of footage from 20 channels around the world.

A site with access to unique images, documents, and more from American History.

A site collecting and preserving the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supporting and encouraging research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.

A collection of more than 1000 maps, illustrations, and diagrams detailing battlefield maps, scenes from conflict, and military equipment from the American Civil War.

A resource from students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, with book, film, and website reviews.

An index of Native American History Resources on the internet.

An official site of the US Census Bureau offering population, housing, economic, and geographic statistics.

The official site of the Minnesota Population Center, one of the world's leading developers of demographic data resources, providing population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students.

A site presenting data from the most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades.