Recommended Web Sites

A guide designed to help individuals identify beaked whales based upon geography, external features, and characteristics of the skull, with images, stranding records, and more.

A site that works with others to provide the scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the sound management and conservation of our nation's biological resources.

Harvard University's Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology, with links and search engines dealing with biochemistry and molecular biology.

The site for Harvard Stem Cell Institute, which is working toward the goal of ultimately understanding the disease process and developing treatments, with research, education, events, and more.

A nonprofit medical research organization ranked as one of the nation's largest philanthropies, HHMI is working to understand the fundamental questions of human life through genes, cells, and other biomedical research.

An online biology textbook with up-to-date information on research and advances in biology.

A site aiming to share the wonders of the ocean to inspire conservation, education, research, and a sea ethic.

A collaborative program to provide data and information about the wildlife biological resources of the United States, with options to search or browse by species, ecological topic, habitat, or geographic region.

A blog put together by a group of scientists, mathematicians, and engineers dedicated to writing and releasing free and Open Source scientific software.

A federal agency whose mission includes support for all fields of fundamental science and engineering, except for medical sciences. The site includes discoveries, news, publications, statistics, and more from all fields.

Resources in a variety of bioscience categories, including animal health and wellbeing, botany, forestry, genetics, parasitology, whales, and more.

Links to plant distribution from all over the world, divided by region.

A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns, and lycophytes, aiming to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.

A digital archive of plant anatomy, Walter T. Swingle, and other citrus and anatomy resources, including plant anatomy animations.

A database providing standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

A site looking to promote knowledge of biodiversity and issues that affect everyone.

A site containing a variety of resources for faculty members who wish to integrate examples from Mars into a variety of undergraduate courses such as sedimentology, petrology, and hydrology.

An organization looking to bring together the people and tools needed to address some of the world's most difficult problems, from climate change and environmental degradation to poverty, disease, and the sustainable use of resources.

A site providing an easily accessible archive of high-quality images for use in educational applications.

Since almost 1.6 billion people worldwide rely on forest resources for their livelihoods, the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization has developed an agenda to reduce poverty through forestry.

A site, managed by the Invasive Species Specialist Group, aims to increase awareness about invasive alien species and to facilitate effective prevention and management activities.

A site created and maintained by the National Invasive Species Information Center, serving as a reference gateway to information, organizations, and services about invasive species

A site from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service displays topical maps that illustrate wetlands and deepwater habitats. This information is utilized by agencies, academic institutions, and the private sector for management, research, policy development, education, and planning activities.

The Nature Conservancy is the leading conservation organization worldwide, working to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people, protect land and habitats, and address threats to conservation.

The site of the Perkins Geology Museum with digital archives, program listings, geology resources, education resources, and more.

A database providing standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

The Environmental Protection Agency's site on wetlands, with education and training, grants and funding, laws and regulations, pollution prevention and control, science and technology, and more.

A site dedicated to genetics research, with sections for students, educators, patients, and health professionals, as well as news, issues, and career offerings.

A site from the American Museum of Natural History offers two methods of searching for Amphibian species from around the world.

The International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources Red List of Threatened Species conveys information about plant and animal species on its website, and is regarded as "the most comprehensive, objective global approach for evaluating the conservation status of plant and animal species." Visitors can learn about how the organization assesses the current status of each species, along with data sets for scientists and others.

A site dedicated to mammals and their diversity and distribution on earth from the Burke Museum's mammal collection, including carnivores, bats, rodents, primates, and marine mammals.

A database of mammalian taxonomy to be used as a convenient on-line reference for identifying or verifying recognized scientific names for taxonomic research.

A site aiming to enable users to identify crickets, katydids, and cicadas from America north of Mexico, to attract amateur and professional biologists to the study of singing insects, and to provide helpful information and access to literature.

A collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world, the Tree of Life Web Project gives information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, their evolutionary history, and images.