DeWitt Library Research Guides: NUR 420: Nursing Research and Informatics: Databases

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Biology / Chemistry / Physics, Computer Science, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion (DEI), First-Year Seminar, Health Sciences, Kinesiology, Library Information, Mathematics, Neurosciences, Nursing

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
A research tool for all aspects of nursing containing full-text scholarly journal articles, care sheets and quick lessons on diseases.
Limit: 4 users at a time
PubMed
Comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
ScienceDirect
A large database of authoritative articles in the sciences including physical, life, health and social.

PsycINFO (ProQuest)
The APA’s premier abstracting and indexing database to scholarly literature in psychology.
Social Work & Sociology (ProQuest)
A collection of social work and sociology indices, including Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, plus a number of full-text journals.

These databases, intended for the PA program at Northwestern, may also be helpful to nursing students:

AccessMedicine
A tool for medical students that contains a variety of resources including e-textbooks, diagnostic tools, procedural videos, patient education materials, a drug database, photos, illustrations and case files.
UpToDate
UpToDate is a tool that assists health care professionals with point-of-care decisions. Many health providers depend on UpToDate to help guide care decisions and be informed about standards. The resource is evidence based and authored by physicians.

CINAHL Tutorials Online
CINAHL is the Nursing Database. EBSCO's CINAHL Support Center provides varied tutorials to enhance your searching of this major database.
PubMed for Nurses Tutorial
Learn how to search PubMed. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to 1948. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources.