Last Updated: Apr 24, 2013
- Information Please
Information Please has been providing authoritative answers to all kinds of factual questions since 1938. Information includes facts about the World, Biographies, Business, United States, Sports, Society & Culture, History & Government, Arts & Entertainment, Calender & Holiday, and Health & Science.
- Old Farmer's Almanac
The Almanac, North America's oldest continuously published periodical, comes out every year in September, since 1792. Information includes tide tables, sunrise and planting charts, recipes and weather forecasts.
- World Factbook (country profiles)
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- Official U.S. Time
A cooperatively provided public service from the Department of Commerce agency, the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and the U. S. Naval Observatory. Readings from the clocks of these agencies contribute to world time, called Coordinated Universal Time.
- Time and Date
This site has information about Time, Date, Astronomy, Holidays, Clocks, and Counters.
- Time Zone Converter
The Time Zone Converter is intended to be used to compare relative times between time zones.
- Basic Dictionary
Provides reliable, free online access to millions of English definitions, synonyms, spelling, audio pronunciations, example sentences, and translations.
- Basic Thesaurus
Provides access to millions of English definitions, synonyms, spelling, audio pronunciations, example sentences, and translations.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary
For more than 150 years, in print and now online, Merriam-Webster has been America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.
- Newbury House Dictionary
The All-In-One Essential Tool for English Language Learning--- contains over 40,000 entries, with simple, clear definitions and a wealth of sample sentences and idioms.
- OneLook Dictionaries Directory
19,317,398 words in 1063 dictionaries indexed.
- Wolfram Alpha
Wolfram Alpha is a site that aims to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. The goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries.
- Computer Glossary and Dictionary
Every calculator on the site is hand-crafted to be used for free.
- Medical Dictionary
The text, graphics, images, and other material contained on the MedicineNet Site are for informational purposes only.
A Web site with thousands of "cyberterms" that people use when communicating online, surfing the Web or conducting e-commerce transactions. It acts as a digital reference guide that helps people around the world learn about the most commonly used words, smileys, acronyms, etc.
- Oxymoron List
Welcome to the biggest little list of oxymorons online. Feel free to click on your favorite (or most hated) oxymoron and tell us what you think about it.
- Rhyme Zone
A site offering rhymes, synonyms, definitions, and more. If you don't know the right word to use, this site will help you find it. No word is too obscure: More than 5 million words in more than 1000 online dictionaries are indexed by the OneLook® search engine.
- Specialty Dictionaries
YourDictionary is the easiest to use on-line dictionary and thesaurus, featuring simple, straightforward definitions along with example use cases for the most popular words, with quick-click access to more in-depth information including specialty definitions and related articles.
- Sue and Dave's British/ American Dictionary of Slang
A dictionary of slang used in both American and British English.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc., headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, is a leading provider of learning and knowledge products. We're proud to be one of the world's most trusted sources of information on every topic imaginable - from the origins of the universe to current events and everything in between.
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian
This Smithsonian Web and New Media Strategy was created through a fast and transparent process that
directly involved, and continues to involve, hundreds of stakeholders inside and outside the Institution.
This strategy will feed into the Smithsonian’s comprehensive strategic plan, currently under
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy, operating through the volunteer work of the editors, which consists of editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers.
- Internet Oracle
This site allows access to information over a huge variety of topics. It pulls this information from many online encyclopedias.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Welcome to the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (SEP). From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public.
FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business, is the world's leading provider of online legal information and Internet marketing solutions for law firms. FindLaw's roots go back to 1995, when two attorneys compiled a list of Internet resources for a group of law librarians in northern California. The response to the material was so positive they decided to post the information on the Internet.
The leadership of the 104th Congress directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public. Since that time THOMAS has expanded the scope of its offerings to include: Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties, & Government Resources.
- Google Maps
Google Maps is a map service that you can use to view basic or custom maps and local business information, including business locations, contact information, and driving directions, allowing you to view satellite images of your desired location that you can zoom and pan.
Building on the core premise of providing accurate maps and directions to millions of people everyday, MapQuest.com is committed to making it easy for you to find local information, create your trips or journeys and customize, personalize and share them with others.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
An online map source of areas that are in Current Interest and General Interest
- Yahoo! Maps
Yahoo! Maps is set up to give you driving directions, Businesses, and Traffic updates.
- CalculateMe.com - Comprehensive
Includes information about Calculations, Conversions, Popular conversions and Car insurance rates.
- Claculator plus
CalculatorPLUS.com is a comprehensive source of free business, financial and loan calculators and is a premier online destination for all business and personal financial calculators, designed to help you make the best investments and financial planning decisions.
An online directory to many other online calculators for various different professions including but not limited to: Health, Finance, Sports, Design, Engineering,Science, etc.
CNN.com is among the world's leaders in online news and information delivery. Continuously updated and staffed 24 hours, seven days a week, CNN.com relies heavily on its global team of almost 4,000 news professionals. CNN.com features live video streaming, audio packages, searchable archives of news features, background information and much more.
- Fox News
The services offered by FOX News include foxnews.com, foxbusiness.com, foxnation.com, foxnews.mobi, m.foxbusiness.com, the FOX News iPhone application, the FOX Business iPhone application, and any FOX News - branded URL, WAP site and mobile application, FOX News messaging services, video services, RSS feeds, podcasting services, and more.
- KCAU (ABC)
This Web Site provides a variety of online services, from interactive entertainment to electronic commerce via its relationship with Gannaway Web Holdings, LLC d/b/a WorldNow.
- KMEG (CBS)
Channel 14 News, Weather, Sports, Sales, and Lifestyle.
- KPTH (FOX)
The local Fox News station, based in Sioux City, with news from the Siouxland, US, and the world available through videos, headlines, and more.
- KTIV (NBC)
Through its relationship with Gannaway Web holdings, LLC D/B/A WorldNow provides a ariety of online services, from free news and weather information to entertainment and electronic commerce on the Web site.
The Msnbc Digital Network is a collection of innovative and powerful news brands that deliver the most compelling, diverse and visually engaging stories on your platform of choice. The world-class brands featured in the digital network include msnbc.com, TODAY, NBC Nightly News, msnbc TV, NBC Sports, Newsvine, EveryBlock and BreakingNews.com.
- National Public Radio
A thriving media organization at the forefront of digital innovation, NPR creates and distributes award-winning news, information, and music programming to a network of 944 independent stations. Through them, NPR programming reaches 26.8 million listeners every week.
- Bartleby Quotations
The 50,000 most authoratative quotations on the web, with 38,000 other short selections.
- Best of the Web (lists several quotation sites)
Best of the Web is a comprehensive directory of categorized, content-rich, well designed websites- and the internet's oldest search directory. Our mission is to provide the internet community with meaningful guidance it can trust.
BrainyQuote is the world's largest quotation site. We educate and entertain audiences of all ages with family-friendly quotations from history's most prominent figures through to today's newsmakers - famous celebrities, athletes, politicians, authors, and everything in between. We are passionate about quotes, and on a mission to share our knowledge with the world.
- Libarary Spot (lists several quotation sites)
We created LibrarySpot.com to break through the information overload of the Web and bring the best library and reference sites together with insightful editorial in one user-friendly spot. Sites featured on LibrarySpot.com are hand-selected and reviewed by our editorial team for their exceptional quality, content and utility.
- LIFE QUOTES LIB
On this website you'll find more than 36,000 quotations from over 6,000 famous people, such as Benjamin Disraeli, Oscar Wilde, Marilyn Monroe, Winston Churchill, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Mahatma Gandhi, Mother Teresa, Mark Twain, William Shakespeare, Confucius, Woody Allen, Abraham Lincoln, Martin Luther King, Jr. and other great authors. Read the most brilliant and smartest things ever said.