Graduate Education Library Resources
Education Databases
- ERIC & Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center's index to articles and documents from scholarly education literature, plus a database including over 1,000 full-text journals. Watch a video on how to use this database.
Note: ERIC has a controlled vocabulary called "Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors" that is available in the Advanced Search.
- PsycINFO (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowThe APA’s premier abstracting and indexing database to scholarly literature in psychology.
Journal Packages
We subscribe to journal packages from different publishers:
- Sage Education Package This link opens in a new windowA collection of 116 education-themed journals published by Sage; access goes back to 1999.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,600 full-text Wiley journals.
Searching ERIC
Using a Bibliography to Find More Articles
LibKey Nomad
Nomad is a browser extension that helps link sources on the web to DeWitt Library's resources. Once you install the extension, you'll notice one-click access to PDF articles when available; when not, Nomad should help initiate the interlibrary loan process. This can be so helpful when you're gathering numerous articles for a large research project!
To use,
- Download the extension for your preferred browser.
- When prompted, select Northwestern College / DeWitt Library from the dropdown list of organizations.
For more information about Nomad, watch this short video: