Education Resource Guide
Education Databases
- ERIC & Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center's index to articles and documents from scholarly education literature, plus a database including over 1,000 full-text journals. Watch a video on how to use this database.
Sage Education Journals
Use this box to search the SAGE journals that DeWitt Library subscribes to, many in the field of education.
Related Resources
- PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA searchable database of peer-viewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
- Social Work & Sociology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA collection of social work and sociology indices, including Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, plus a number of full-text journals.
oogle Scholar
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature online. Rather than indexing web sites, the engine indexes articles, article and book citations, and theses.
Google Scholar has some advantages:
- It's free to search.
- It's accessible anywhere.
- The "cited by" feature allows you to see what other articles have cited a particular piece of research.
- The tool has nice limiting and refining options.
- Articles you have access to through DeWitt are noted.
There are also disadvantages:
- Not all of the results are free and accessible; many of them require payment or access to a database.
- It does not index everything; many of our databases index more or better research.
- There is no definition of what "scholarly" is; not all of the research you find may fit your professor's definition of scholarly.