English Resource Guide

Complete works of the Elizabethan playwright, including his plays "Tamburlaine the Great," "Doctor Faustus," and "The Jew of Malta"; his poetic works; his translations of Ovid and Lucan; his short miscellaneous works; and other works. Texts can be displayed side by side, with each edition's textual variants hyperlinked to other editions for comparison. Part of the Perseus Project Digital Library at Tufts University.

A digital edition of the Complete Works of Ralph Waldo Emerson, Centenary Edition, edited and with notes by Edward Waldo Emerson.

This site is designed to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works in a worldwide audience

A growing archive of full-length novels, short stories, essays, and newspaper pieces by Jack London. Also included are scans of some of his magazine versions of stories and serialized novels.

"The best free Web site containing Shakespeare's complete works."

"The heart of this site is the full texts of Shakespeare's sonnets from Thomas Thorper's 1609 edition."

The digital collection incorporates images of all Poe manuscripts and letters at the Ransom Center with a selection of related archival materials, two books by Poe annotated by the author, sheet music based on his poems, and portraits from the Ransom Center collections.

Free HTML versions of individual plays.

An online collection of the letters of Leigh Hunt, a Romantic writer, editor, and critic.

"An electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first tie, easily and conveniently accessible to students, scholars, and general readers."

The online edition presents Jonson’s complete writings for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery.

This scholarly archive preserves work that mainstream teachers and critics often ignore or undervalue. Notable authors include Joanna Baillie, Felicia Hemans, Mary Robinson, Charlotte Smith, and Jane Taylor.

"Includes a wide range of literary works of the American South published before 1924. This collection was originally based on Dr. Robert Bain's bibliography of the hundred most important southern literary works and continues to expand under the guidance of scholarly advisors Dr. Joseph M. Flora and Dr. William L. Andrews."

A comprehensive anthology and guide to English literature of the Middle Ages, Renaissance, Seventeenth Century, Restoration, and Eighteenth Century.

This is a collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875. There are currently 2,887 volumes included, by 1,456 authors.

"The goal The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century."