American Indian Societies & Cultures
This guide is to aid research projects (historical or sociological) on American Indian life and thought.
About Databases
Monks Mound, Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site, IL
Databases are where you can find scholarly articles about historical topics. The articles will provide background and analysis of historical events. If you are looking for primary sources, visit the Primary Sources link on this subject guide.
QuickLinks to Databases
The best American history databases are listed below:
- America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A large index to journals, books & media dedicated to the history of the United States and Canada.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full text archive of scholarly journals covering many disciplines. DeWitt Library subscribes to a number of collections, and JSTOR also includes a number of Open Access collections as well.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowA journal collection of digital humanities and social sciences content.
- Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of over 1,600 full-text Wiley journals.
QuickLink to find Journal Titles
Journal Titles
An alphabetical list of full-text journals available to Northwestern students, either in print or electronic format.
Popular vs. Scholarly
Newspapers, Magazines, Journals...What's the Difference?
To see the main difference among these types of publications, open our Popular vs. Scholarly Materials matrix.