Dutch Heritage Resources
When beginning your research, we recommend you use the following resources in the order listed. All of these are available in the Dutch Heritage Room in DeWitt Library on the Northwestern College campus.
- Dutch Households in U.S. Population Censuses: 1850, 1860, 1870 byCall Number: Dutch Heritage Room, E 184 .D9 S948 1987 (3 volumes)This work contains an alphabetical listing by family heads and single individuals of all Dutch-born and native-born persons of Dutch parentage residing in the United States in the census years 1850, 1860 and 1870. The information contained includes all data reported by the Census Bureau, as well as several other categories added by the compiler derived from census and Dutch emigration records. For names containing the letter Y or I/J, consult both in the listing
- Dutch Immigrants in U.S. Ship Passenger Manifests, 1820-1880 byCall Number: Dutch Heritage Room, E 184 .D9 S95 1983 (2 volumes)Alphabetical listing of all Dutch nationals arriving in the U.S. from 1820 to 1880. The list contains vessels disembarking at Baltimore, Boston, New Orleans, New York, Philadelphia and certain minor ports. Codes to listed information are located at the beginning of both volumes.
- Dutch Emigration Records, 1835-1880 byCall Number: Dutch Heritage Room, E 184 .D9 D87 1975This work contains an alphabetical listing by family heads and single individuals of all Dutch-born and native-born persons of Dutch parentage residing in the United States in the census years 1850, 1860 and 1870. The information contained includes all data reported by the Census Bureau, as well as several other categories added by the compiler derived from census and Dutch emigration records. For names containing the letter Y or I/J, consult both in the listing.
Atlases
Sioux County Atlases can be useful for locating family land plots. DeWitt Library has the following in their archives:
- Standard Historical Atlas of Sioux County, 1908
Also available online via the University of Iowa - Atlas of Sioux County and the World Remapped, 1923
- Atlas and Township Plats of Sioux County, 1935
- Sioux County Atlas, 1938
- Sioux County Plat Book and Farm Directory, 1961
- Atlas Sioux County, 1965
- Pictorial Atlas Sioux County, 1976
- Pictorial Atlas Sioux County, 1985
- Farm Directory and Atlas of Sioux County Iowa, 1987-1988
- Sioux County E-911 Farm Atlas, 1994-1995
- Sioux County Farm Atlas, 2000-2001
- Sioux County Farm Atlas, 2003-2004
- Sioux County Farm Atlas, 2008
Records in our Archives
- Sioux County Census
Archives (see a staff member for assistance accessing and reading the microfilm)
These microfilm census records are arranged by township, rather than by surname. It is thus necessary to know the residence of the person being sought. Available years are 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910 and 1920.
- Sioux County Cemetery Records
Archives: Card Catalog
Sioux County cemetery records transcribed between 1979 and 1982. Recorded information includes birth and death dates, cemetery number and, in many cases, the name of spouse.
- Classic/Beacon Records
Archives: Card Catalog
Index to Northwestern publications. Bound copies of the Beacon from 1923 and the Classic from April 1892 to present are stored in the periodicals area. The Beacon and the Classic are also digitized and available online.
- Regional Histories Index
Archives: Card Catalog
This card index serves as a means of surname access to the contents of many Iowa regional histories. The books referenced by these cards are also located in the Dutch Heritage Room, in the call number range.
Family Records
- Miscellaneous Family RecordsDocuments related to various families with Northwest Iowa connections.
The public is welcome to examine most items located in the Archives. To do so, please contact the library.