American History

A compilation of primary and secondary sources on the amendment that affirmed women's right to vote.

Resources on African-American history in the United States.

A telecourse and video series presenting American history as a living narrative.

A historical record of the mappings of North America and the Caribbean from 1750-1789.

An online dictionary of Iowan individuals who made strong contributions to the state and the nation, including name, birth and death dates, place of birth, education, and career and contributions.

A site containing more than 2, 300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

A site with historical documents from ancient times (4000bce) all the way through the present day.

An electronic archive of information released prior to January 20, 2001, concerning the United States' foreign relations.

An anthology of primary documents on the founding of the United States arranged according to broad themes, then articles, sections, and clauses of the Constitution.

A collection of African American newspapers from all over the country. Historical periods covered include "Antebellum and Civil War Era, 1800-1865," "Reconstruction, 1865-1876," "Gilded Age, 1877-1899," "Pre-World War I, 1900-1914," "World War I-World War II, 1914-1945," "20th and 21st Centuries."

A site, designed for high school and college teachers and students, that serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.

A searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side.

A collection of the laws and treaties in the United States which had to do with dealings with American Indians, organized by years.

A site providing free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music that document the American experience.

An online collection of issues of LIFE magazine, from 1935-1970.

A site offering the different recorded versions of the political debates between Lincoln and Douglas.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A collection of the most legally and historically valuable records from the United States Federal Government.

A site for indigenous people to become visible to each other and themselves and organize actions in a multitude of local, national, and international institutions.

A site that selects collects, preserves, and makes accessible "the accumulated wisdom of the world" through a digital image database, spanning a wide range of historical eras, geography, and visual media.

An online exhibit from the Smithsonian National Museum of American History.

A site using electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of September 11, 2001, and its aftermath, with more than 150,000 digital items including emails, first-hand stories, and digital images.

A public radio story about Mississippi's battle to maintain racial segregation.

Dickinson State College is creating a comprehensive archive of Roosevelt-related papers, including his letters and diaries. The site includes much-related information about Roosevelt, such as a timeline, biography, and articles, and scholarship about him. A nice addition is a list of themes about Roosevelt and his presidency, each with general background information plus related resources.

Learn about Jefferson and experience a typical day in retirement at Monticello. Read articles about the plantation and slavery.

A wide selection of archived television programming from September 11, 2001, and the days after. Includes over 3,000 hours of footage from 20 channels around the world.

A site with access to unique images, documents, and more from American History.

A site collecting and preserving the documentary record of the Vietnam War, and supporting and encouraging research and education regarding all aspects of the American Vietnam Experience.

A collection of more than 1000 maps, illustrations, and diagrams detailing battlefield maps, scenes from conflict, and military equipment from the American Civil War.

A resource from students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, with book, film, and website reviews.

An index of Native American History Resources on the internet.

An online dictionary of Iowan individuals who made strong contributions to the state and the nation, including name, birth and death dates, place of birth, education, and career and contributions.

The CALS Encyclopedia of Arkansas is a free, authoritative source of information about the rich history, geography, and culture of Arkansas.

The Encyclopedia of Chicago is a historical reference work covering Chicago and the entire Chicago metropolitan area.

The Encyclopedia of the Great Plains is organized thematically and alphabetically. Altogether there are 1,316 entries contributed by almost 1,000 scholars.

The Handbook of Texas is a digital state encyclopedia developed by the Texas State Historical Association (TSHA) that is freely accessible to students, teachers, scholars, and the general public.