Recommended Web Sites

A site with guidelines, drugs, clinical trials, vaccine research, health topics, and tools about HIV/AIDS.

AACN is the national voice for academic nursing.

The site for the largest nursing organization in the US, with careers and credentials, practice, ethics, government affairs, and occupational environment information.

A site with evidence-based clinical decision resources that are easily accessed, promptly applied, and frequently updated.

A collection of websites by, for, and about osteopathic physicians.

A site containing bioethics book reviews, news, and blogs.

A site from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute containing lectures, animations, videos, virtual labs, and more about biology.

A site offering research and global activities of flu, flyers, and brochures for specific audiences in multiple languages, flu experts to answer questions, locations of flu vaccinations, information on symptoms and prevention of flu, and more.

A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials, giving you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details.

A site offering specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools.

A site with facts and comparisons of drugs, plus headline news that deals with drugs.

The Bartleby.com edition of Gray's Anatomy of the Human body, with 1,247 vibrant engravings from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonzule of Zinn.

A site featuring articles and patient guides covering common health topics ranging from special procedures to general wellness.

A site exploring the role of immunization in the human experience and examining its continuing contributions to public health, with timelines, activities, articles, and a gallery.

A site from the International Committee on Taxonomy of Viruses, listing viruses by order and family.

A site offering information on the who, what, why, and how of nursing.

The premier destination site for clinical and professional information needs and committed to providing credible, current, authoritative, evidence-based resources to help in practice.

A site where more than 3,300 physicians, scientists, and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you to manage your health, with sections on diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy lifestyle, and first aid.

A site bringing information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in understandable language, with up-to-date information to learn about treatments, look up drug or supplement information, find the meanings of words, and view medical videos or illustrations.

A site committed to improving health and well-being around the world through innovative medicines, vaccines, biologic therapies, consumer health, and animal products.

An A-Z encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources, plus services and information, news, popular requests, and personal health tools.

This website focuses on all facets of the environment that affect human health and, in turn how people affect the health of the environment.

A site looking to foster the development of scientific knowledge needed to enhance the health, productivity, independence, and quality-of-life of people with disabilities.

A weekly update of National Institutes of Health research highlights from the Office of Communications and Public Liasion, Office of the Director, National Institutes of Health.

A site hoping to mentor the professional development of future registered nurses and facilitate their entrance into the profession by providing educational resources, leadership opportunities, and career guidance.

A site providing a local, regional, national, and international network of Christian nurses to bring the message of Christ and a Christian worldview to nursing education and practice, with conferences, publications, and more.

A site providing easy, online access to government information on food and human nutrition for consumers from the National Agricultural Library.

A site providing timely, evidence-based information on diet and nutrition for clinicians, allied health professionals, and the public.

A site about the way the US Government agencies conduct global health activities, with news, topics, programs and initiatives, and more.

A site offering comprehensive information about specific types of cancer updates on cancer treatments, and news about advances in research.

A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the US National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

A site with an A-Z index of drugs, a pill identifier, slide shows, image collections, diseases and conditions, a dictionary, and quizzes over drugs.

The site contains thousands of high-resolution images, and it integrates history, culture, and scientific development into short articles on a number of themes, including Belief and Medicine, Diseases and Epidemics, and Understanding the Body.

The international nursing honor society, in which members lead in using knowledge, scholarship, service, and learning to improve the health of the world's people.

A site giving made-up cases to allow people to practice finding the cause of death when given a cadaver.

A site with features for health news, a symptom checker, drugs, healthy living tips, eating and dieting tips, parenting tips, and more.