DeWitt Library Research Guides: Athletic Training Resource Guide: Search for Articles

Recommended Kinesiology Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A research tool for all aspects of nursing containing full-text scholarly journal articles, care sheets and quick lessons on diseases.
Limit: 4 users at a time
ERIC & Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center's index to articles and documents from scholarly education literature, plus a database including over 1,000 full-text journals. Watch a video on how to use this database.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
A large multidisciplinary collection of databases.
PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A searchable database of peer-viewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 1,600 full-text Wiley journals.

The Cochrane Library
Independent high-quality evidence for health care decision making.
Ovid Resource Center
NARIC
The National Rehabilitation Information Center's online gateway to an abundance of disability- and rehabilitation-oriented information.

Identify Your Topic (keyword, synonyms, subject headings)

Identify Your Sources (encyclopedias, books, journal articles, news)

Refine Your Searches - Create search statements using Boolean Operators:

Use AND between different key terms to narrow a search (athletes AND doping)
Use OR between synonym key terms to broaden a search (college OR universities)
Use truncation symbols (*) to retrieve multiple variations of a word (athlet* retrieves athlete, athletes, athletic, athletics)
Use "phrase searching" to search for words in the order they appear ("student athletes")